Library Board Minutes

August 28, 2023

The Carroll Board of Trustees met in the Community Room at the Carroll Public Library. Trustees present: Summer Parrott, Thomas Parrish, Dale Schmidt, Brenda Hogue, Julie Perkins, Marcie Hircock and Keith Cook. Absent: Ralph Von Qualen and Lisa Auen. Also present: Director Wendy Johnson.

Parrott called the meeting to order at 5:30pm. It was moved by Schmidt and seconded by Perkins to approve the agenda. All voted aye. Nays: none. Abstain: none. Abstait: Auen and Von Qualen. Motion passed 7-0.

Minutes Approval: reviewed the minutes from June and July's meetings – It was moved by Parrish to approve the minutes and seconded by Cook. All voted aye. Nays: none. Abstain: none. Absent: Auen and Von Qualen. Motion passed 7-0.

Correspondence: received a thank-you note from a patron who appreciated assistance on renewing a book.

Reviewed the financials and bills. Auen & Von Qualen joined at 5:35pm cst. While reviewing the bills after the 1st month into the fiscal year, it was noted to check the over/under expenditure numbers and to follow up on the roof repair expense. It was moved by Hircock and seconded by Perkins to approve the bills. All voted aye. Nays: none. Abstain: none. Motion passed 9-0.

Director's report: Highlights of the directors' report: 111 new library cards issued in June 2023, over 1000 people came into the library during RAGBRAI, teen program attendance is up, and an ad is posted for a new Adult Services Librarian as Donna is retiring at the end of October.

Old Business: none

Trustee Education: none

Policy Review:

Board of Trustees Bylaws: It was moved by Hircock and seconded by Perkins to change July to January in Article II. Officers and committees. This change will go into effect in 2025. New verbiage: Officers of the Board shall be President, Vice-President and Secretary and shall be elected at the meeting in January for a term of one year. Aye votes: Hogue, Parrish, Hircock, Perkins, Von Qualen, Schmidt, Auen, Cook. Nays: none. Abstain: Parrott. Absent: none. Motion passed 8-0-1.

It was moved by Schmidt and seconded by Cook to strike the verbiage in the same section that states terms for all officers be limited to two consecutive years. Aye votes: Hogue, Parrish, Hircock, Schmidt, Auen, Cook. Nays: Perkins, Von Qualen. Abstain: Parrott. Absent: none. Motion passed 6-2-1.

It was recommended by Johnson to modify the bill paying process when a board meeting isn't held. Updated verbiage noted in Article IV. Major functions of the board letter J. It was moved by Von Qualen to adapt the changes and seconded by Hircock. Aye votes: Parrish, Perkins, Auen, Cook, Von Qualen, Schmidt, Hircock. Nays: none. Abstain: Parrott, Hogue. Absent: none. Motion passed 7-0-2.

Confidentiality & Library Records Policy: Reviewed the updates to the Confidentiality and Library Records Policy. It was moved by Hircock and seconded by Cook to approve the Confidentiality and Library records, all voted aye. Nays: none. Abstain: none. Abstain: none. Motion passed 9-0.

New Business:

Introduction of Children's Services Librarian, Kerson Postel – Kersten introduced herself to the board.

Election of Officers:

Perkins motioned a full slate of officers: Hircock-Secretary, Parrish-President, Parrott-Vice President Von Qualen seconded the motion. Hircock and Parrish declined the nomination. Parrott accepted. No vote needed as nominees did not all accept.

Schmidt motioned Perkins for President and Hircock seconded. Perkins declined nomination; no vote needed.

Parrott motioned a full slate of officers with no changes to current positions: Parrott-President, Parrish-Vice President, Hogue-Secretary. Hircock seconded the motion, all accepted nominations. Aye votes: Parrish, Hogue, Von Qualen, Schmidt, Auen, Hircock, Cook. Nays: none. Abstain: Perkins, Parrott. Absent: none. Motion passed 7-0-2. The offices will be held until January 2025.

Director Annual Review:

Johnson exited the meeting at 7:07pm cst It was motioned by Parrott and seconded by Hogue to enter a closed session. All voted aye. Nays: none. Abstain: none. Absent: none. Motion passed 9-0.

The Board of Trustees completed the review process of the Director. Johnson returned to the meeting at 7:20pm cst. It was motioned by Parrish and seconded by Von Qualen to end the closed session at 7:23pm cst. All voted aye. Nays: none. Abstain: none. Absent: none. Motion passed 9-0.

Agenda Items for Next meeting:

It was motioned by Hogue and seconded by Perkins to adjourn. All voted aye. Nays: none. Abstain: none. Absent: none. Motion passed 9-0. Parrott adjourned the meeting at 7:24pm cst.

Next regular meeting will be Monday, September 18, 2023, at Carroll Public Library: Community Meeting Room – 118 E. 5th St, Carroll, Iowa 51401.

Summer Parrott – President

Brenda Hogue -Recording Secretary