COUNCIL MEETING

AUGUST 28, 2023

(Please note these are draft minutes and may be amended by Council before final approval.)

The Carroll City Council met in regular session on this date at 5:15 p.m. in the Council Chambers, City Hall, 627 N Adams Street. Council Members present: Kyle Bauer, Misty Boes, Tom Bordenaro, LaVern Dirkx, Carolyn Siemann and JJ Schreck. Absent: None. Mayor Mark Beardmore presided and City Attorney Dave Bruner was in attendance.

* * * * * * *

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by the City Council. No Council action taken.

* * * * * * *

Phil Bock, Municipal Service Worker (Streets Division), and Terry Kluver, Water Superintendent, were recognized for their upcoming retirements. No Council action taken.

* * * * * *

It was moved by Bordenaro, seconded by Schreck, to approve the following items on the consent agenda: a) minutes of the August 14, 2023 Council meeting, as written; b) bills and claims in the amount of \$524,260.80; c) Renewal of Class "C" Retail Alcohol License – *Hunan Chinese Restaurant,* d) Resolution No. 23-67, Accepting the Sports Tourism Grant Agreement Between the Enhance Iowa Board and the City of Carroll for the 2023 Kick It Up Youth Soccer Tournament, and e) Infill Housing Incentive Applications for Jake Vonnahme (1528 E 10th Street) and MB Construction and Real Estate (1505 E 10th Street, 1417 – 1419 E 10th Street and 1421 – 1425 E 10th Street). On roll call, all present voted aye. Nays: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None. Motion carried 6-0.

* * * * * * *

There were no oral requests or communications from the audience.

* * * * * * *

It was moved by Dirkx, seconded by Siemann, to approve Resolution No. 23-68, Agreement Amendment No. 1 with JEO Consulting Group, Inc. for Professional Services at a cost of \$2,100.00 for the Water Distribution Main Replacements Project. On roll call, all present voted aye. Nays: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None. Motion carried 6-0.

* * * * * * *

It was moved by Siemann, seconded by Schreck, to approve Resolution No. 23-69, Amended Carroll Police Department Standard Operating Procedures. On roll call, all present voted aye. Nays: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None. Motion carried 6-0.

* * * * * * *

It was moved by Bordenaro, seconded by Bauer, to appoint the following individuals to the Empower Rural Iowa Rural Housing Assessment Grant Housing Committee: LaVern Dirkx, Carolyn Siemann, Kyle Bauer, Jim Friel, Mike Franey, Dustin Katje, Matt Meiners and Adams Schweers. On roll call, all present voted aye. Nays: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None. Motion carried 6-0.

* * * * * * *

It was moved by Bordenaro, seconded by Bauer, to adjourn at 5:30 p.m. On roll call, all present voted aye. Nays: None. Abstain: None. Absent: None. Motion carried 6-0.

	Mark E. Beardmore, Mayor
ATTEST:	